quote of the day: 1/24/13

“We all die. The goal isn’t to live forever; the goal is to create something that will”.

-From Diary by Chuck Palahniuk

diary-us-trade-1

Personal notes: I’ve got a bit of a bias with this one, as Palahniuk is one of my favorite writers. In my humble opinion, Diary is probably his least appreciated book. This really makes me sad, because as an aspiring “artist” (the writer kind) I can appreciate what he does with this novel. Palahniuk points out the way that you’ve sort of got to be “fucked up” in order to produce a masterpiece. He says, “we have no scar to show for happiness. We learn so little from peace”. Hence, art comes from pain and suffering-some of it self inflicted. Is he just discussing the general nature of artists, or criticizing these methods? You read and decide.

About theopenboat

21. Currently residing in the south central valley of California. English major. Book nerd.

Posted on January 24, 2013, in photo, quote of the day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love Palahniuk and I think this is the one that really stuck with me. The critic of the process yet the acknowledgement of how it’s sort of necessary to produce great work, I just found it fascinating! He really nailed it!
    I hate this book isn’t more famous!

Leave a Reply

